البدلات الرأسمالية – لقطة

كما تعلمون، يمكن للشركات المطالبة بعلاوات رأس المال على العناصر المؤهلة التي تم شراؤها للاستخدام داخل الشركات والمطالبة ببدل كتابة "WDA" ضد الأرباح الخاضعة للضريبة.

الجميع يعرف أن المطالبة على مصنع والآلات، مثل الأدوات والمعدات المكتبية. ومع ذلك، عندما يتعلق الأمر التجهيزات والتركيبات وميزات البناء المتكاملة يمكن أن تصبح معقدة بسبب صعوبات تقييم بدقة النظم جزءا لا يتجزأ من الممتلكات ومتاهة من السوابق القضائية.

وهذا يمكن أن يؤدي إلى تقييم البدلات الرأسمالية ومعالجتها بشكل غير دقيق، مما يعني أن العميل يفوت الإعفاء الضريبي غير المطالب به، ربما بمئات الآلاف من الجنيهات.

تركيبات وتركيبات وميزات البناء المتكاملة وتشمل أجنحة الحمام، والنظم المتعلقة التدفئة والإضاءة والمياه أو التهوية، فضلا عن المصاعد والممرات المتحركة، على سبيل المثال لا الحصر. ويمكن أن تصل المطالبات الفردية أحيانا إلى 35 في المائة من قيمة التملك الحر، ولكن كل حالة فريدة من نوعها ويجب تقييمها على حدة.

وتنص قواعد البدلات الرأسمالية على أن مالكا واحدا فقط قادر على الاستفادة الكاملة من الإعفاء الضريبي المتاح خلال عمر المبنى، لذلك إذا لم يطالب المالكون السابقون بأن المالك الحالي يمكن أن يكون في خط لتحقيق مكاسب غير متوقعة.  

اشترى لينكولن هولاند جي في المحدودة، وهي شركة تطوير عقاري واستثمار مقرها برايتون، مبنى سكنيًا كبيرًا في برايتون مع العديد من المستثمرين الآخرين للسماح بالخروج كـ 37 شقة منفصلة. ولا تمتد بدلات رأس المال إلى "مساحة السكن" لذلك كان المصنع والآلات في الشقق خارج الصورة. غير أن الهيئة أجرت مسحا للبدلات الرأسمالية، استعرضت فيه النظم في المناطق المجتمعية، مثل القاعات والمصاعد وغرفة المصنع، غير المصنفة كمناطق سكنية.

وحسبت الحسابات أن شركة لينكولن هولند JV المحدودة يحق لها المطالبة بعلاوات رأسمالية تزيد على 000 320 جنيه إسترليني نتيجة لنفقاتها.

والقواعد التي تحكم الأصناف المؤهلة لتجميعها معقدة وتختلف اختلافا كبيرا من مبنى إلى آخر وعبر مختلف الصناعات. ويتطلب التقييم الدقيق للاستحقاق الكامل لدافعي الضرائب مزيجا من المعرفة الضريبية والخبرة في مجال المسح. بسبب هذا العديد من الممارسات اختيار لجلب المتخصصين في الخارج.

البدلات الرأسمالية في نقاط البيع

عندما يتغير المبنى التجاري يجب على الأحزاب الدخول في قسم مشترك 198 انتخابات 's198' لتحديد قيمة نقل للعلاوات.

في كثير من الأحيان سترى اقتراح S198 الانتخابات في £ 1، عادة عندما يكون لديك أكبر بائع والدهاء الضرائب بيع إلى أصغر المشاريع الصغيرة والمتوسطة. هذا هو بالطبع نبأ عظيم للبائع كما أنها سوف تحتفظ بالفائدة الضريبية على العناصر في المبنى. ومع ذلك، إذا نصحت بشكل صحيح صفقة أفضل يمكن عموما أن يكون التفاوض للمشتري.

على سبيل المثال كان صاحب دار الرعاية روبن روبون في عملية شراء اثنين من دور الرعاية. وأصدر البائع انتخابات لتحديد قيمة بدل رأس المال بمبلغ جنيه استرليني في المباني الجديدة. لم يتمكن محامو السيد روبون من تقديم المشورة له وأخبرهم محامو الباعة أنه جنيه إسترليني أو تنسى الصفقة.

قيمة بدل رأس المال من 1 £ يعني أن السيد روبون قد فقدت ببساطة كل من الفائدة الضريبية للمصنع في المباني ، باستثناء 1 جنيه استرليني (لست متأكدا من مدى تأثير WDA من 18p ضد أرباح الجدول له كان يمكن أن يكون).

تفاوضت STax مع البائع ومحاميهم نيابة عن السيد روبون وتوصلت في نهاية المطاف إلى نتيجة. واحتفظ السيد روبون بالحق في المطالبة بالمصنع والآلات، الذي تضمن العديد من المواد التي كان من الممكن تجاهلها عادة، مثل معدات المطبخ، وأجهزة الاستخراج، وشبكات المياه الباردة، وأشغال الأنابيب. العديد من هذه البنود البائع لم يطالب وحتى لم تكن قانونية قادرة على المطالبة ، ومحاميهم كانوا يتطلعون إلى الخروج من الانتخابات في مكان "لمجرد التأكد"!

عبر العقارين ادعى السيد روبون £ 342،000 ، وخفض ضريبة شركته بنسبة 79،000 جنيه استرليني تقريبا (23٪) كما تم شراء المنازل من قبل شركته المحدودة.

مشروع قانون المالية لعام 2012

في معظم المعاملات s198 لا توضع في مكان أو تنفذ بشكل سيئ بحيث تكون غير صالحة من الناحية الفنية. وبسبب هذا شعرت وزارة الخزانة أن هناك خطرا من أن الشركات كانت تطالب ببدلات مزدوجة وجلبت تشريعات جديدة لفرض استخدام هذه الانتخابات.

وقد حولت التغييرات التشريعية في مشروع قانون المالية لعام 2012 (s187a & s187b CAA2001) الطريقة التي يتم بها التعامل مع البدلات الرأسمالية أثناء معاملة عقارية. ويقسم التشريع الجديد على نطاق واسع إلى مجالين متميزين، هما شرط القيمة الثابتة وشرط التجميع.

وينص شرط القيمة الثابتة على أن قيمة التحويل (من نوع ما) يجب أن تكون ثابتة على أي أصناف يطلب من البائع أن تضع في الاعتبار رسوم التخلص منها أي الأصناف المطالب بها سابقاً. وهذا الأمر ساري المفعول منذ نيسان/أبريل 2012.

إذا لم يتم استيفاء شرط القيمة الثابتة في غضون عامين من اكتمالها ، إما عن طريق انتخاب S198 أو عن طريق اللجوء إلى المحكمة ، فإن كل هذه البدلات ستفقد للمشتري (النفقات تعامل على أنها NIL) ويمكن لشركة HMRC فرض قيمة التخلص ضد مجمع البائعين بما يتماشى مع S198 CAA2001 (القيمة السوقية بشكل عام).

لذلك حادث قطار كامل لكلا الطرفين والفرق هو netted من النظام إلى الأبد. لتكرار الحديث عن خسارة كاملة لجميع البدلات على هذه البنود للمشتري (يكاد يكون من المؤكد خفض قيمة مبناهم بين عشية وضحاها) ، وربما مخلب كبير مرة أخرى من قبل منح إعفاء ضريبي على البائع. ليس تشريعاً يجب تجاهله!

إذا لم يكن ذلك كافياً للتعامل معه ، من أبريل 2014 يبدأ شرط التجمع. وهذا يجعل تجميع البدلات قبل البيع إلزاميا قبل الحاجة إلى تلبية متطلبات القيمة الثابتة. أي شيء غير مجمع سوف تضيع أيضا إلى الأبد.

المسؤوليه

ومع احتمال أن يكون التشريع الجديد قد بالغ العض، فمن الأهمية بمكان أن يُنصح دافعو الضرائب بشكل صحيح. وإلا فإنها سوف تفقد مبالغ كبيرة في كثير من الحالات، وسوف تكون تبحث عن شخص لإلقاء اللوم. ولكن من يدين بواجب الرعاية هنا؟

كما رأينا في كلارك ضد Iliffes بوث بينيت [2004] محام لديه واجب الرعاية لفهم وتقديم المشورة بشأن كل جانب من جوانب العقد التي يتم توجيهها على, بغض النظر عن ما رسالتهم الرعاية تنص. ونحن نتصور أنه إذا وضعت لاختبار هذا من شأنه أن يمتد إلى البدلات الرأسمالية في وسيلة نقل تجارية.

ومع ذلك سوف يتطلعون في كثير من الأحيان إلى تحويل واجب الرعاية إلى محاسبي دافعي الضرائب الذين يقولون لدافعي الضرائب للتحدث إلى محاسبهم ، قد يكون هذا أنت. إذا كنت تقدم خدمات محاسبية عامة فمن غير المحتمل أن يغطي خطاب الخطوبة تحويل البدلات الرأسمالية في صفقة عقارية. ولكن إذا كنت لا تعطي أي نصيحة لموكلك، كنت مدين الآن واجب الرعاية حتى لو لم يتم دفع لك لمدخلاتك.

إذا كنت لتقديم المشورة سيكون من الحكمة لوضع خطاب خطوبة منفصلة وتكون متأكدا 100٪ من ما كنت تنصح العميل الخاص بك القيام به. وقد كان هذا دائما ممارسة جيدة ولكن أمر ضروري الآن في ضوء الحكم الأخير ميهجو ضد هاربن باركر [2013]. إذا كان في أي شك نوصي بالإشارة إلى متخصص مثل STax (على حد تعبير بي بي سي "المتخصصين بدل رأس المال الأخرى متاحة") بدلا من المخاطرة تقديم المشورة الجزئية. على حد تعبير غايوس أوكتافيان سيسار [روما 2005] "المقابر مليئة بالسيوف المُوسّلة"، لا تكن واحداً منهم!

العمل الآن

وعلى مدى الأشهر القادمة، تتاح الفرصة أمام المحاسبين لوضع تدابير لضمان حصولهم على المعرفة المتخصصة اللازمة لحماية مصالح عملائهم وتحمّل واجبهم في الرعاية. يأتي عملاء أبريل 2021 لكسب أو خسارة مبالغ كبيرة. ويمكن للممارسات التي تضيف قيمة في هذا المجال أن تستفيد كثيرا في حين أن تلك التي تغفل عنها قد تجد نفسها مكشوفة.

تريد مناقشة الخاص بك
استحقاق
البدلات الرأسمالية؟

أرسل تفاصيل الاتصال بك وسوف يكون أحد أعضاء فريقنا على اتصال
شكرًا لك! تم استلام طلبك!
عفوا! حدث خطأ أثناء إرسال النموذج.

Capital allowances – a snapshot

As you will be aware, businesses can claim capital allowances on eligible items bought for use within the businesses and claim a writing down allowance ‘WDA’ against taxable profits.

Everyone knows to claim on plant and machinery, such as tools and office equipment. However, when it comes to fixtures, fittings and integral building features it can become complicated due to the difficulties of accurately valuing systems embedded in a property and the maze of case law.

This can lead to capital allowances being inaccurately assessed and processed, meaning client miss out on unclaimed tax relief, perhaps to the tune of hundreds of thousands of pounds.

Fixtures, fittings and integral building features include bathroom suites, systems relating to heating, lighting, water or ventilation, as well as lifts and moving walkways, to name a few. Individual claims can sometimes amount to as 35% of the value of a freehold but each case is unique and must be assessed individually.

Capital allowances rules state that only one owner is able to take full advantage of the available tax relief during the lifetime of the building, so if the previous owners did not claim the current owner could be in line for a windfall.  

Lincoln Holland JV Ltd, a Brighton-based property development and investment business, bought a large residential building in Brighton with several other investors to let out as 37 separate apartments. Capital allowances do not extend to ‘dwelling space’ so the plant and machinery in the apartments were out of the picture. However, STax conducted a capital allowances survey, reviewing the systems in the communal areas, such as the halls, lift and the plant room, not classified as dwelling areas.

It was calculated that Lincoln Holland JV Ltd was entitled to claim capital allowances of over £320,000 as a result of their expenditure.

The rules governing which items are eligible to be pooled are complex and vary significantly from building to building and across different industries. To accurately assess a taxpayer’s full entitlement requires a fusion of tax knowledge and surveying expertise. Because of this many practices choose to bring in outside specialists.

Capital allowances at point of sale

When a commercial building changes hands the parties should enter into a joint section 198 election ‘s198’ to fix a transfer value for the allowances.

Quite often you will see a proposed s198 election at £1, commonly when you have a larger tax savvy vendor selling to a smaller SME. This is of course great news for the seller as they will retain the tax benefit on the items in the building. However, if advised correctly a better deal can generally be negotiated for the buyer.

For example a care home owner Robin Roopun was in the process of buying two care homes. The vendor issued an election to fix the capital allowance value at £1 in the new buildings. Mr Roopun’s solicitors were unable to advise him and the vendors solicitors told them it was £1 or forget the deal.

A capital allowance value of £1 would have meant that Mr Roopun would have simply lost all of the tax benefit of the plant in the buildings, except of £1 (I’m not sure how much impact a WDA of 18p against his table profits would have had).

STax negotiated with the vendor and their solicitors on Mr Roopun’s behalf and eventually reached an outcome. Mr Roopun retained the right to claim on the plant and machinery, which included many items that might normally have been overlooked, such as kitchen equipment, extractors, cold water systems and pipework. Many of these items the vendor hadn’t claimed and wouldn’t even have been legal able to claim, their solicitors were looking to out the election in place “just to be sure”!

Across the two properties Mr Roopun claimed £342,000, slashing his corporation tax by nearly £79,000 (23%) as the homes were purchased by his limited company.

2012 Finance Bill

In most transactions s198 are not put in place or are implemented so badly as to be technically invalid. Because of this the Treasury felt there was a risk that businesses were double claiming allowances and brought in new legislation to enforce the use of these elections.

Legislative changes in the 2012 Finance Bill (s187a & s187b CAA2001) have transformed the way capital allowances are dealt with during a property transaction. The new legislation is broadly broken down into two distinct areas, the fixed value requirement and the pooling requirement.

The fixed value requirement states that a transfer value (of some sort) must be fixed on any items the vendor is required to bring a disposal charge into account for i.e. previously claimed items. This has been in effect since April 2012.

If the fixed value requirement is not satisfied within 2 years of completion, either by a s198 election or by recourse to the tribunal then all of these allowances will be lost to the buyer (expenditure treated as NIL) and HMRC can impose a disposal value against the vendors pool in line with s198 CAA2001 (generally market value).

So a complete train crash for both parties and the difference is netted out of the system for good. To reiterate we talking a full loss of all allowances on these items for the purchaser (almost certainly devaluing their building overnight) and potentially a substantial claw back of previously given tax relief on the vendor. Not a piece of legislation to be ignored!

If that if that wasn’t enough to contend with, from April 2014 the pooling requirement kicks. This makes pooling of allowances prior to sale mandatory before then needing to address the fixed value requirement. Anything not pooled will also be lost for good.

Liability

With the new legislation having a potentially deep bite, it is paramount that taxpayers are advised correctly. Otherwise they stand to potentially lose substantial amounts and will in many cases be look for someone to blame. But who owes the duty of care here?

As we saw in Clarke v Iliffes Booth Bennett [2004] a solicitor has a duty of care to understand and advise on every facet of a contract they are instructed on, regardless of what their care letter states. We would envisage that if put to test this would extend to capital allowances in a commercial conveyance.

However they will often look to shift the duty of care on to the taxpayer’s accountants telling the taxpayer to speak to their accountant, this might be you. If you are providing general accounting services it is unlikely that your engagement letter covers the transference of capital allowances in a property deal. However if you do give any advice to your client, you now owe a duty of care even if you are not being paid for your input.

If you are to give advice it would be prudent to put in place a separate engagement letter and be 100% sure of what you are advising your client to do. This has always been good practice but is essential now in light of the recent Mehjoo v Harben Barker [2013] ruling. If in any doubt we would recommend referring to specialist like STax (in the words of the BBC “other capital allowance specialists are available”) rather than risk tabling partial advice. In the words of Gaius Octavian Ceasar [Rome 2005] “The graveyards are full of middling swordsmen”, don’t be one of them!

Act now

Over the coming months accountants have a window of opportunity to put measures into place to ensure they have access to the specialist knowledge required to protect their clients’ interests and up hold their duty of care. Come April 2021 clients stand to gain or lose substantial amounts. Practices that add value in this area could stand to benefit greatly whilst those that overlook it may find themselves exposed.